Daily Archives: January 2, 2012

Auld Lang Syne

Should auld acquaintance be forgot,

and never brought to mind?

Should auld acquaintance be forgot,

and auld lang syne.

For auld lang syne, my dear,

For auld lang syne,

We’ll take a cup o’kindness yet,

For auld lang syne.

 

Did you sing Auld Lang Syne this year – or at least hear it played somewhere?  Did you watch and hear it sung at the end of “It’s a Wonderful Life”?  Being a very sentimental sort, Auld Lang Syne is one of those melodies and words that always brings tears to my eyes.

Auld Lang Syne is a very old Scottish song from the 17oo’s.  A good translation of the words “auld lang syne” is “times gone by”.  So when we sing this song, we’re really reflecting and remembering not only the people in our lives today but those times and people in our past.

I meet and get to know  so many parents and children over the years. When I hear and sing this song at the beginning of another new year, I believe much of the emotion I’m filled with is remembering so many of these families, that I hold in my heart,  from auld lang syne.

I wish all of you a very warm, happy and healthy New Year 2012 with thanks and much appreciation for sharing this part of my life which is the Parent Pulse blog.

Comments Off on Auld Lang Syne

Filed under Uncategorized